What is an Apprenticeship?

The types of Apprenticeships available

Apprenticeships are available in all sectors and industries throughout England. There are more than 200 different types of Apprenticeships available offering over 1,200 job roles.

They generally fall into one of four categories:

  • Intermediate Level Apprenticeships

    • Generally take 12-18 months to complete
    • Give an QCF Diploma Level 2, equivalent to five GCSEs at grade A*-C
  • Advanced Level Apprenticeships

    • Generally take 12-24 months to complete
    • Give an QCF Diploma Level 3, equivalent to A Levels or a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma
  • Higher Apprenticeships

    • Give an QCF Diploma Level 4 or 5, equivalent to a Higher National Certificate (HNC), Higher National Diploma (HND) or a Foundation Degree.
  • Degree Apprenticeships

    • Degree - Level 6 qualification which would give you a full University Honours Degree.

Not all subjects are offered at all levels, contact the team to find out more. 

See the subjects we currently offer Apprenticeships in.   


Get in contact

Ask our Enquiries & Admissions team by email or call on 01344 868600

get in touch